ms. fresh fish


What took me so long?
January 19, 2014, 7:55 pm
Filed under: a & e, ottawa, The big picture

I can be stubborn. Not all the time, but I’m definitely guilty of hanging on to opinions, stories and perspectives for way longer than I genuinely believed them, or needed to.

Take, for instance, my opinion of Ottawa. I moved here at 19 and proceeded to spend over a decade hating it. Being from Montreal-ish (ahem), how could one come to love such a city, devoid of life, energy and creativity?

Things eventually started to change and I’ve come to really adore this big village. I love its size, the absence of traffic, the absence of pretension. And I love its stoic character and its friendly, humble traits – ones like no other. Others are more qualified to talk about the art and restaurant scene, so I’ll leave them to it. Ultimately, we love our life and friends here. It is so easy to have a good life here (even with the weather!), and we so appreciate that.

Driving to yoga this cold Sunday morning, I took the scenic route along the Canal. It wasn’t yet 9 a.m. The best word I can think of to describe the scene is “bustling.” As always, there were the runners along the lovely paths, balancing the need to protect from the cold while managing their sweat, determined to keep their training (for May?) on track. The Canal itself, meanwhile, was hosting hundreds of skaters. People flying down solo, couples holding hands (including an elderly couple that melted my heart), groups of friends, people all bundled up and clearly teaching themselves to skate, others doing twirls and spins.

Again, it wasn’t even 9 a.m.

That’s when I thought to myself: Wow, LB… what took you so long to realize that this city was entirely worthy of your love?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Aww, lovely! I’ve loved this city from the get-go (as an alternative to Hometown, obviously), but Hubby needs some persuading on occasion.

Comment by Marianna Annadanna

Hi there! My name is Heather and I wondering if you would be able to answer my quick question I have about your blog! Please email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

