ms. fresh fish


Cherised memory: Christmas in Manchester
November 26, 2012, 9:29 am
Filed under: events, travel

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…

One of my favourite Christmas’ ever of all time was in 2002 when I spontaneously maxed out my credit card to fly to Manchester, England to see my BFF. She was living there as a teacher and was, basically, stuck there and – it must be said – miserable.

It really is that awesome.

In addition to eating some disaster of a fake turkey (she was still vegetarian at the time) and eating dozens of boxes of Kraft Dinner (that my mom made me bring over), we managed to get new haircuts, go shopping, drink enough beer so that I gained 10 pounds in 10 days and couldn’t do my pants up on the plane home (yes, I cherish that little nugget). I got to witness the courtship between her and her now husband (have I mentioned that I TOLD YOU SO lately?!). It was so super fun. We were still young and while we felt like we had responsibilities, the way we played for 10 days has not been re-created since actual *real* responsibilities shortly thereafter came into play.

This was (half of) our soundtrack for that week. On vinyl. Merry Christmas, y’all.

Blue Christmas

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What could have been the WORST Chirstmas ever, was actually great (fake turkey aside) Thanks to you =)

Don’t forget all of that toast and honey 😉

Comment by Elissa

Hangover food. How could I have forgotten? ❤

Comment by freshfish

More academically related conferences would be a big help. I would love to see someone from the college admissions office who is familar with their colleges requirements for homeschoolers at a coeenrnfce.Most of the homeschool co-ops we have been involved in are not that academic in nature. Just knowing what/who is available in my region with an interest in strong academics would be a help.

Comment by Jalene




Leave a Reply

