ms. fresh fish


Chronicles of a Housewife
October 18, 2012, 9:26 am
Filed under: Housewife Chronicles

Last year, I was a Stay-At-Home-Mom (SAHM, as per Twitter speak). I was on paid leave at (basically) full salary for a year, so I was fortunate enough to be able to, without thinking, continue with the niceties – the gym membership, the frivolous eating out, MOLLY MAID. But, as of a month ago, I’m now a SAHM and Housewife.

The difference between the two, to me, is as follows: SAHM is all about raising the children and caring for their needs. They’re doing well, I’m successful. I wasn’t responsible for meals for adults. In fact, Le Husband was because I needed a break when he got home. The Housewife, on the other hand, is responsible for entire household management – administration, child-rearing, cleaning… all of it. I have no salary of my own to play with. Of course, Le Husband is completely supportive and the only condition of credit card usage is that I’m the one who does the work to transfer the money to pay it off. Seriously – I could go on a total Real Housewives spending spree and he would never know! (Perhaps a post for another time.) BUT, that doesn’t change the fact that we are now, officially, a one income household.

So, some changes were made. Goodbye gym membership. Hello menu planning and hello to it being my responsibility. The only one that was really contested was Molly Maid. Le Husband really campaigned to keep them, because there is nothing so wonderful as Molly Maid day in our house. But no. I feel moderately confident that I can organize my time enough to clean my own house, make dinner and take care of the children.

All this to say, I’ve decided that I’m going to see “Housewife” as my Job for the next 11 months. I’m going to learn how to do it, and, if all goes as planned, do it well. I will chronicle my adventures for all of your amusement, because my life is a mockery for you all to enjoy.

Wish me, and this poor family of mine, good luck.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Perhaps it will run in the family?

Comment by servingothersblog

Let’s hope not! You know what my role model was(n’t)!

Comment by freshfish

Oh my gosh so scary/impressive. You’ve DRAPed your life!! You’ll do great. I suspect you will be very creative and innovative in your cleaning, cooking, and child rearing tasks. And I hope you’ll enlist the help of non-parent friends when you need it.

Comment by Marianna Annadanna

[…] so, a big part of my Project Housewife is meal planning. As a bare minimum, I want my kids to enjoy a mealtime with nutritious food […]

Pingback by Housewife Chronicles: Meal Planning. Sh*t. « fresh fish daily

Donc vous considérez que possédez un droit sur le sous ensemble « lecteur sur liseuse apple », contenu dans le sous ensemble « lecteur sur liseuse », lui même contenu dans l’ensemble ≪ro; aecteur&nbspq&uaquo; est un monopole …Intéressante définition mais bien éloigné de la vérité …

Comment by Allie

Welcome to the SAHM club! It will be one of the hardest jobs you will ever have the privilege of doing. You`ll be great and I look forward to reading all about it.

Comment by Crayon

Thanks =) Technically, I suppose I’ve been at it for almost 14 months but I’ve only recently decided to actually OWN the home management stuff. So far so good… most of the time!

Comment by freshfish




Leave a Reply

