ms. fresh fish


Vendredation Day RETURNS!
September 2, 2011, 9:29 am
Filed under: a & e, babies, events, recommendations

Vendredation Day, back when I was cool and lived downtown with my boyfriend, used to be about restaurants and cool places. Those days are over people. *Sniffle*

As noted in my previous post, my former lightning-fast speed is, well, gone. I’m now slow. At least in terms of movement, which is important to me, because I like to, and used to, move A LOT and I always did so quickly.

So, when told to go off work to prevent pre-term labour (success, by the way), I had to find ways to occupy my ADHD-self. Here are some suggestions for investments and activities that I would highly recommend.

For the mobile days/weeks:

– Swimming! I found an outdoor pool for the summer, which was a goddess-send. It’s now closed and I’m going to the indoor one. The benefits of the indoor one are that I don’t have to wear sunscreen or worry about exacerbating the G-D SUN SPOTS I GOT ON MY UPPER LIP THIS SUMMER. Swimming is particularly fun when you’re pregnant and there are children around. On several occasions, children would be so fascinated by my belly that they would go under water to look at it *inconspicuously* through their goggles. Then they would go get their friends and tell them to do the same. Clever little brats.

– Shopping! Not for clothes if you’re pregnant, because that’s just a gigantic waste of money. But lamps, rugs, frames, dishes, pet paraphernalia, gifts for other people – the list is endless!

– Lunching! For the days when I can eat without wanting to throw up, I’ve been lucky to have school-employed people available over the summer and my grandmother. It’s a good way to pass a couple of hours.

– Spa! As per the last post, some of us haven’t had the ability to cut our own toenails for… well, I can’t remember the last time I was able to do it myself. So, either grab a friend or make a new one and go get a pedicure! Lots of time to kill? Throw in a manicure. It’s not a luxury many of us are used to indulging in on a regular basis, but think of all the money you’re saving while on the clothing-buying moratorium!

For limited mobility/days when you’re totally exhausted or weeks (2, to be precise) when you’re on bed rest:

– Movies! I’ve been a Turner Classic Movies channel fan for a long time and recently, I record as many as I can per week and there they are waiting for me, in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep, or in the middle of the day when I can’t sleep but also can’t stand because of exhaustion. Also, re-watched some other classics (Pride and Prejudice, Manchurian Candidate).

– TV Series! Note: Not TV. It’s hell. It’s stupid. It will drive you crazy. However, if you are fortunate enough to have a friend with, oh, say, every season of the Gilmore girls available, get it. Or, a friend with random shows you’ve never heard of on a hard drive that he’s willing to lend you, get it (and The League, for Fantasy Football people, in particular).

– KOBO/Kindle! I love my Kobo so much, I can’t put it into words (ironic, I know). I’ve read more books over the last month and a half than I usually do in a year. I’m now reading a real book that BFF lent me and I’m so irritated by it. Where’s the ease of holding and transporting? Why’s it so damn heavy? I’ve contemplated giving her back the book and buying it for my Kobo, but figure that’s the kind of reckless spending that would put my offspring’s future at (more) risk (than it already is). Some particularly good reads:  The Flying Troutmans, Tess of the d’Urbervilles, Alone in the Classroom. Stay away from The Sentimentalists. ugh. Also, I tried War and Peace, but I think Anna Karenina last year filled my lifetime Tolstoy quota (tbc).

– Pouting! Don’t underestimate it. Sometimes, pouting/sniveling/whimpering really are the answer to your problems.

– Pets! They’re great company, especially when they’re lazy little bastards. Mine follow me from resting place to resting place and then plant their cuteness somewhere visible (case in point, below). *NOTE: Downside is pets, such as a 10 lb Pomeranian, who snores louder than two adults and farts could compete with a 250 linebacker after a Taco Bell binge.*

Quitta on sympathy bedrest

– Photo Albums! I’ve been using MixBook online to create photo books that have a scrapbook feel, without the work of a scrap book (win-win!). I did one for my sister from our trip to Havana and the one for the babies is now 80% done, just waiting for pictures to drop in to their pre-positions.

– Blackberry! Between random 5 hour stays at the hospital and middle-of-the-night-I-don’t-feel-like-getting-out-of-bed-or-reading scenarios, my new BB Torch has been a lifesaver. Not only do you find out who else in your BBM/FB network are insomniacs (so many!), but you have excellent sources of brainless entertainment at your fingertips, like Solitaire and Word Mole (note: when all of the words you’re finding are things like “painful”, “hopeless”, “gin”, “hatred”, etc., likely time to switch over to Solitaire).

Happy long weekend people and wishing Michael (my surly, non-committal doula) and Ally-O  the most magical of days this upcoming Sunday!! Fingers crossed that we’ll be there to celebrate with you (and that labour will then commence the moment your wedding is over)!!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yay! Excellent tips. I especially like the tip for sneaking a peak at pregnant bellies under the water. I’ll try that next summer.

Comment by Marianna Annadanna




Leave a Reply

