ms. fresh fish


All smiles
April 10, 2007, 7:43 am
Filed under: events, ottawa, Sports

Ready for a ramble? Good…

Last night, Fowl Language (bball team extraordinaire – in everything but winning games) hit the Harlem Globetrotters at the Scotiabank Place… in A Box.

On the way there, we were talking about how some peoples’ faces in their relaxed state give the appearance of unhappiness – a default frown, if you will. A few of us in the car seem to have those faces which have incited such actions as random men coming up in a bar to say “you can smile and have a good time you know?” or grade 6 bullies beating a smile onto one’s face. True stories. This naturally led into a discussion of situations in life that are so good that you just can’t wipe the smile off your face.

Coincidentally, last night was one of those very situations.

It started with the right mood. Any chance I get to spend an evening with these ladies, I know it’s going to be a good one. Anna came by to pick up Amy and I and praise goddess, the Volvo was working. The late 1980’s shiny black Volvo wagon was working, and my season-long wish was going to be fulfilled! I was such a happy camper. After dinner, the chocolate started flowing, the sugar high started to rise. We were going to A Box.

I’ve never been in an Arena Box. I probably will likely never again be in an Arena Box (as, I realized last night, I married too early and should have thought about holding out for someone with Box privileges). I loved that Box. I watched all of about six and a half minutes of the show because I was too busy enjoying The Box. Wandered in and out; took pictures; paced around; used the private bathroom; chatted on the leather couches; ate the carrot chocolate, then the ginger chocolate, then all the timbits. And the whole while, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my otherwise miserable face.

Weird. The word “Box” has suddenly lost all meaning.

Fowl Language a la Box

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

