ms. fresh fish


Vendredation Day
March 16, 2007, 1:50 pm
Filed under: events, ottawa, recommendations, Restaurants

First – I need a favour from YOU! Husband is insisting on lobster for his birthday, and unless someone gives me a good recommendation, we are going to end up at Red Lobster. I shoudn’t judge, I’ve never been there, but am I wrong to have a bad feeling about where this night will end up?!

Back to business. 

If the week before last was defined by sandwiches, I can safely classify this past week as that of “berry crumbles and vanilla ice cream.”

The first was a blueberry crumble at Memories Restaurant in the Market. I’ve recommended the desserts here before, but never specifically the blueberry crumble, obviously with ice cream and whipped cream. The only downfall of this experience was that I had to share the piece, and as many of you know, I don’t share food easily.

The second crumble experience is fresh in my mind having taken place merely hours ago. Best Friend is back from England for about 2.2 seconds to empty her apartment and buy a wedding dress, and she’s brought her mama with her. Thursday evening, upon arrival, they were screaming for sustenance, so off to Lieutenant’s Pump on Elgin we went. I had already eaten dinner, so I got to pass go and get the $200 – bumble-berry crumble… with vanilla ice cream. The crumble came in what seemed to be a double crème brulée dish – so, wide in diameter but not too deep. I won’t lie, it could have used a bit more ice cream, but overall it was delicious.

As a side note, BF’s mama got the eggplant steak and it looked amazing. I will definitely be trying that dish next time I’m there for dinner.

In non-food related recommendations, we had a very nice visit to the National Gallery on Sunday. I was surprised at how busy it was. I can’t recall ever having to wait in line to pay for admission, but Sunday’s line-up held us back for at least ten minutes. We didn’t have a chance to check out the special exhibits unfortunately, so if anyone has been able to see the new one(s), please leave a comment and let me know your thoughts. We had a wonderful couple of hours wandering around the incredible building and enjoying the space. It’s definitely one of my favourite places to spend simple time in Ottawa. Plus, we were happy to see that one of our favourites, Brian Jurgen has an incredible piece now hanging in the Gallery.

Finally, on Sunday night, we took mama-in-law to the Forsythe Ballet at the National Arts Centre. Mama-in-law digs the dancing, so it seemed like an obvious treat for all of us. I’m not sure what sets modern dance apart from modern ballet, but suffice it to say that I now have a new appreciation for “modern” in general. It really challenges the audience to re-examine any pre-existing notion of “performance” they may have had.

The first of three acts was truly incredible, although again, someone will have to one day explain to me the ballet/dance nuances. About15 dancers ran and danced, seemingly chaotically, all over the stage, stopping and starting suddenly. After becoming comfortable with the chaotic pace, I realized the truly amazing choreography that was entailed to create such a piece. The second act was very… challenging. Six dancers, barely moving (my theory: they were deconstructing dance and performing small movements, or “pieces”, of traditional dance and then presenting them to the audience in this alternative form… probably not, eh?) while two pairs of people screamed at each other across the stage. 28 minutes. Yikes. Finally, we were treated to a lovely act of solos, duos and trios that were much more in line with what I was (ignorantly) expecting. All in all, a truly enriching experience that I would recommend to others.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Don’t know about red lobster, but one is located in the same mall as Homesense on Merivale. And, Homesense, I can recommend a lot! So, if the food fails, perhaps you can find a little something-something for the house? Ooh, Ah, and I think there’s a party place nearby, so you can buy a lobster piñata which would be totally fun for later that evening! No, no, it was my pleasure to help.

Comment by Joanne




Leave a Reply

