ms. fresh fish


My Mid-Night Adventures
March 9, 2007, 7:21 am
Filed under: recommendations, Sports

No recommendations today. Too tired to remember what I’ve been doing for the last week.

Instead, I shall warn you. Last night, after a very difficult long run at the gym, I decided to use a recently discovered stash of half-marathon event freebies. My legs have been aching this week from pushing too hard on Monday night and not resting enough since. When the little packets of “sore muscle relief” appeared, I felt so grateful.  At about 11:00, I used up one little packet on both my thighs. The first thing I noticed was the Vick’s vapo-rub type smell. Cleared up my sinuses immediately. Unfortunately, that was just the beginning of the very intense sensation that was to keep me up until 3 a.m. My eyes were so tired, because I was so tired, yet my legs were tingling with an abundance of activity that I couldn’t turn off.

It reminded me of my favourite stories from my grandmother (the one who tells me I’m an idiot for not having good gloves). The short of it is (I’m too tired, remember?), she had a long drive to do from Montreal to Niagara Falls in the 1950’s and was worried that she would be too tired. She remembered my grandfather, who had been an RCAF pilot in WWII (hence the bagpiper at the wedding), mentioning something that all the WWII pilots had in their flight packs. In case they got shot down and had to stay up for hours to run from the enemy, they had been given “bennies” (which my sister clarified for me was, in fact, speed). She found his old flight pack, pulled out the pills, popped ’em and hopped in the car.

I don’t know that I’ll ever get the image out of my head of my grandmother’s 75-year old face still expressing shock at how she didn’t sleep for 48 hours because she was jacked up on speed. While the thought has always made me giggle before, last night, I finally felt her pain. The skin on my thighs was on speed.

The worst part? They don’t even feel that much better today. Good thing it’s the weekend so I can rest and go back to my old forms of therapies – all food-based, obviously, but especially a good greasy spoon breakfast.

Have a great weekend everyone and enjoy the warmer weather!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

