ms. fresh fish


Vendredation Day – Delivered
February 23, 2007, 6:06 pm
Filed under: ottawa, recommendations, shopping, Sports

No food-related items this week, unfortunately. For the many of you who are being bogged down by Seasonal Affectiveness Disorder (SAD), maybe a little time out and about would help bring you back from the realm of dragging yourself around, to the feeling of forward motion. The following activities, along with a lot of chocolate and hot baths, have helped me anyway…

1. Camp Fortune – Sure the hill is a wee bit on the little side, but that’s compensated by the short lift lines, decent prices and proximity to Ottawa. You can make it there by 5:30 on a weeknight and ski until 10 p.m. Even on a snowboard – a foreign object for my feet, which lead me to take 10 times as long descending – I was able to do almost 10 runs (and it was the headache that stopped me, otherwise another five would have been no problem), including a delayed start and a pizza and soup for dinner. One suggestion to make your experience more enjoyable: Stay away from the disastrous teenagers in the chalet. Maybe we’re just getting old, but the chalet was a complete disaster with stuff strewn everywhere. I couldn’t even find a path to walk through to get to our table. As we were ranting about how kids have no manners or sense of self-decency anymore (oh yea, we’re getting old all right), we noticed that there appeared to be an “adults-only” second level. I’ll have to try that one out next time.

2. Rama Lotus Yoga – Based on a strong recommendation from my friend Debbie, I finally tried Bikram Yoga (aka “hot yoga”) one Sunday afternoon and was very happy I had done so. I hear there are other places where the experience is “better” (whatever that means), but I enjoyed Rama Lotus (teacher: Ed) very much. I’d never gone to a class in a yoga studio before but the experience as a first-timer was not at all intimidating and the heat was indeed, very therapeutic. A little tip for you first-timers, bring a change of clothes for the way home because everything (including undergarments) will be soaked. Dégolase.

3. Finally, for those of you uninterested in physical-types of SAD-fighting, how about retail therapy? Based on a recommendation from Kaili, who is unquestionably Ottawa’s best store of knowledge of all things retail and brand, I went to Hush Clothing in Westborough on Wednesday night to consign a couple pairs of my designer jeans (sniff, sniff) so that I may be able to afford another pair. As luck would have it, they had just received a pair of Sevens which I quickly grabbed for less than half the price of a new pair of the same brand (yes, yes, I pay too much for jeans… leave me alone! It’s my one splurge!)!And so, there lay my relatively new Rock & Republics as well as my beautiful Seven Dojo’s waiting to be adopted by an excited new owner. I hope they’ve enjoyed their time with me, as I’ve enjoyed my time with them (we’ve been through a lot together). I wish them great adventures with their new owner and very much look forward to meeting new pairs of beautiful, cheap jeans in the future!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

