ms. fresh fish


podkolanówka!**
January 30, 2007, 3:17 am
Filed under: general

The sock pyramid scheme has officially put me ahead and has turned out to be a very wise investment. I may have lost some ability to call in future favours, but who am I kidding, I probably would have blown those on “can you grab me a cookie while you’re up?” anyway.

Plus, this particular pair of socks is very, very special. They come from the mom of a close friend, which makes their… “uniqueness” all the more… interesting…? They’re not socks so much as, well, nylon knee highs. I won’t lie, I wear ’em all the time, although I generally don’t brag about it. Either way, I definitely wasn’t expecting such a pair through the sock pyramid, which got me thinkin’…

So, I figure either said friend revealed my knee high love to her mother one night over too much vodka (is that what the Polish drink?), OR I am officially “in” on a little Polish secret, previously held very dear by only a select few in a precious Club (OK, now I’m really exaggerating).

I’m pretty sure it’s the latter, because I don’t recall said friend being keenly aware of my fetish for knee highs, and certainly not to the extent where she would share my taste with her mom. Unless of course, I revealed such fetish to her during an evening of excessive vodka which I now forget, in which case the seemingly mundane information could have been passed along as part of a much, much more scandalous story, and her mother sending me the knee highs is a message of “you’re a bad influence on my saintly daughter”.

Actually, that does seem sort of reasonable now that I think about it.

The point is, these knee highs are very special. In fact, they’re so special, I have never before witnessed such a sight in all of my knee high shopping endeavours. They have padding on the feet!

I would tell you the brand and the evidence of what store they were purchased from but in the event that it is an initiation of some sort into a Polish Woman’s Club (rather than a well placed, seemingly benign threat to stay away from, or at least not drink with, her daughter), I choose not to mess with the Polish mafia.

I wish they had come with pierogies.

** Apparently this is “knee length socks” in Polish. If it is not, and happens to be something horribly offensive, I apologize.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Actually, it is “knee length sock”. Just one. But good job! Please stop delving into the workings of Polishness or you will have to be eliminated. You already know too much. Now I have to zap you with my “Polack in Black” polish sausage memory eraser.

Comment by Yvonne




Leave a Reply

