ms. fresh fish


Vendredation Day
January 12, 2007, 3:07 pm
Filed under: general

This may be the most impractical, expensive vendredation day list to date. Having been out of town for the entire Christmas holiday and then coming back to face illness, I have but one practical, Ottawa-based activity suggestion.

That’s not to say, however, that my quality of life has not been significantly improved by certain recent experiences.

1. The iPod. Some people, likely none who read this blog however, would recall that I was fairly anti-iPod when they first emerged as I’m generally the nay-sayer of trends that emerge and am, at my core, a luddite. Husband finally forced the technology on me this Christmas (and I him, ’cause we always end up buying each other the same things) and I’m so thankful for it. Not only did it save my sanity while quarantined at the cottage, but it’s now my go-to accessory for every walk to work, dog walk and grocery trip. I find myself walking to the beats of my favourite tunes and thinking “well, my life is definitely not movie-worthy, but at least I’d have the soundtrack!”. It’s also helped me get very excited to train for the half marathon in May!

2. Wicked. Sure, it’s left Toronto. And I’m not even sure that it’s still running in New York. If you love broadway though, it’s worth it. It’s the only show that has brought me to tears… and it did so twice. I was so moved by the story and the characters and the songs (“I don’t know if you changed me for the better, but you changed me for good…”) and the overall storyline about grrlfriends hit just the right tone for me.

3. Now, if you can’t fly off to whatever city Wicked happens to be playing in, and you’re not interested in reading the book (which I need to now get my hands on), I’m very happy to report that the Showtune Showdown is back – Saturday January 27th at the Bronson Centre! A quartet of us went last year and had a great time, if not for the scolding that one of us got for laughing (!??!) from an overly anxious parent. There’s some really amazing talent in this city and the fast-paced, entertaining broadway renditions was definitely worth the $15 last year, as I’m sure it will be again this year.

Have a great weekend everyone!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

If the Showdown is worth it’s salt, that will be just the FIRST time I am scolded for laughing. Can we seek out the parents this year? I have some aggressive energy that I am not allowed to expunge in any other manner…

Comment by Yvonne




Leave a Reply

