ms. fresh fish


Wish I could have been there…
January 9, 2007, 6:25 am
Filed under: general

Last night, two of my faves met for the first time, and, so sweet of them, they let me watch the meeting. Lainey, of laineygossip.com (my number one favourite site – snarky, sleazy, clever, skeptical, conspiratorial… does it get any better?), was on The Hour with George Stroumboulopoulos. She has long loved him so it was sweet to see her “get there”. It’s too bad that George was predictably unsympathetic, or really respectful, of her little niche in the world. I have faith, however, that since the show, George has gone onto her site and gained a full appreciation for her merciless, biting wit at all things celebrity and that they have since become friends (yes, all this in the last 10 hours… c’est possible, non?).

Lainey aside, I have to say I was impressed with the show. I got on the bandwagon when it first started as an ardent CBC and George fan, but quickly retreated back to the comfortable “arms” of Jon Stewart. Last night was the first time I had tuned in since then and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. The change comes at a time when, dare I say, JS’s schtick is becoming a bit too predictable, his nightly guests all authors of books about war or Bush and a seemingly endless line of new correspondents, which makes it hard to get attached in the Colbert/Corrdry/Bee fashion.

George’s variety of information, topics and guests, while failing to provide me with a “laugh out loud” moment, kept me interested throughout. Plus, George’s charming interview with the star of Little Mosque on the Prairie finally convinced me to make the absolute effort to check it out tonight.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

