ms. fresh fish


Dear Mel…
September 28, 2006, 1:28 pm
Filed under: general

It was so nice to see you yesterday evening. Your new hair style looks great by the way! Too bad that you couldn’t make it for the practice, but hopefully those arms of yours will be ready to work their magic in a week’s time. The practice was quite nice and I now wish that we had had such a thing last season. I learned ten-fold yesterday evening what I learned through the whole season last year. In fact, I think I know now why I get called for fouls.  Joy!

I can’t tell you how excited I am for our basketball season to start, especially for the potlucks. Speaking of which, your contribution of all things “ball”-shaped was nothing short of brilliant, although I have to say I was more partial to the potato balls than the soy balls… but that’s just me.

Your sadness over the terrible fate of Cool Dude (aka C.D.), the British hamster, or gerbil, or whatever, has subsided by now, I hope. The tale/tail seemed to affect you quite profoundly as you cried into your german onion cake.

Do you now regret declining my offer to show you my ringworm (“Harry”)? Goodness knows everyone else got a look (whether they liked it or not). Maybe, if you’re lucky, Harry will still be around next week.

Please accept this personal note as a heartfelt apology for not blogging lately and providing you with some entertainment on your 10 a.m. coffee break. I promise to be more diligent over the days to come.

Basketball-y yours,

Lori & Harry

p.s. Fowl Language foreva!!

Updated – Reply from Mel (I hate finding one-way letters and not knowing the recipients response):

Many, many thanks for the personalized post on your blog.  I’m a little
worried that I will never catch up this season, having missed our first
(and only?) practice, and that even my “skill” of flailing my arms will
not be enough.  Ah well, at least now I have an excuse.  As for Harry,
I think I spotted him as you were rubbing your belly post-brownie #2. 
He seems a delightful fellow.  The C.D. story did affect me as I don’t
like to think of furry pets being stuck in uncomfortable places.  To an
owner of a spectacularly dumb cat, such stories seem omens of
misadventures to come.

Looking forward to basketball, potlucks, and beating Barrhaven moms,

Mel

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Dear Lori,

Many, many thanks for the personalized post on your blog. I’m a little worried that I will never catch up this season, having missed our first (and only?) practice, and that even my “skill” of flailing my arms will not be enough. Ah well, at least now I have an excuse. As for Harry, I think I spotted him as you were rubbing your belly post-brownie #2. He seems a delightful fellow. The C.D. story did affect me as I don’t like to think of furry pets being stuck in uncomfortable places. To an owner of a spectacularly dumb cat, such stories seem omens of misadventures to come.

Looking forward to basketball, potlucks, and beating Barrhaven moms,

Mel

Comment by Melanie




Leave a Reply

