ms. fresh fish


Vendredation Day
August 4, 2006, 12:43 pm
Filed under: general

What oh what do I have to recommend today?

Have I formally recommended the Teriyaki Experience’s Bento Box? It’s at the corner of Bank and Slater and in my humble opinion, they offer the lunchtime bento to beat. Gyozas, chicken teriyaki, tempura shrimp, california rolls and a salad – what more could you want?

We tried Savana Café again on Saturday night. I love the feel of the carribean-fusion atmosphere and I want to love the food, but here’s my problem: I had convinced myself that the four previous times we had gone there, I had meant  to order the pad thai but end up becoming more adventurous (much like my actual experiences at Stoneface Dolly’s intending to order the omelette and every time being distracted and subsequently disappointed). So this time, I ordered the pad thai, and hated it. Upon further reflection, in fact, this is what happens every time, not the opposite. I’ve now had confirmations that the two previous visits had me with pad thai, which makes at least three pad thais in a row – a lot considering I thought I’d never had it. I can say, however, that their spring rolls are some of the best in the city.

At the same time, my hates-to-be-named-frequent-eating-partner always orders something “crazy” and it’s always delicious – this time was no different. Some sort of chicken, cream cheese and banana concoction, which sounds disgusting, was actually divine, as was his shrimp meal that he found last time and the mahi mahi that a fellow diner indulged in on Saturday evening. I guess the moral of the story is this: Go there, don’t order the pad thai. If you hear about me going there, do me a favour and remind me not to have it either.

http://www.savanacafe.com/

Sometimes I worry about myself.

Have a fabulous long weekend y’all!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Did I ever mention Rodney’s Oyster House in Yaletown? That would be my suggestion, but not table 10 please!

Comment by Dad




Leave a Reply

