ms. fresh fish


Hey cats, it’s Bluesfest time
May 2, 2006, 2:56 am
Filed under: general

The annual bluesfest schedule has been announced. Not sure when it was announced and this may be very old news, but in case anyone else was out of the country on a super-secret-spy-mission (like me), I wanted to share the good news. Also good news is that it will be downtown in Confederation Park/City Hall again this year, which makes the location super convenient for noble, patriotic spies like moi.

But seriously, it looks pretty good and includes some of the following shows:

Blue Rodeo (um, don't they own the copyright to "outdoor festival" in Canada at this point?), Great Big Sea (who doesn't love the boys from the Rock? Heartless people. That's who.), Bonnie Raitt (to give us somethin' to talk about), Sam Roberts (still have a crush on his brother from the swimming days in Mtl), Nelly Furtado, Etta James (turns out, still alive!), Metric (apparently very cool, although I'm old and uncool and therefore only hear about their coolness through cool connections), Roseanne Cash (yeah, you know), Gloria Gaynor (also still alive… well, I guess she kind of promised that she'd survive…) and KC and the Sunshine Band will help you shake-shake-shake, shake-shake-shake, shake your booty.

http://www.ottawabluesfest.ca/en/

Until then, I will shamelessly pretend that I've been a hockey fan all season long and not simply for these crazy playoffs. I do, however, still refuse to commit to a team. Right now, I'm ALL about the Oilers (and particularly, Mr. Peca – Italian for "wowzas"). Sadly, last week, I was ALL about the Habs. The week before, I was ALL about anything besides hockey.

Fickleness and hypocrisy are two highly underrated qualities, I've always found.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So upset that I will be missing some of these great names… especially Etta James and Gloria Gaynor… Cheer for me 🙂

Comment by sarah




Leave a Reply

