ms. fresh fish


Can we ever go back?
March 24, 2006, 2:30 pm
Filed under: general

This may be one of the most random entries yet, but something that I think we can all relate to…

I subjected my poor cousin Brad to, what must have been for him, a painful tour around Nostalgia University yesterday evening. Poor guy, he’s such a good sport. I was overcome with memories that I hadn’t thought of in years – places where I fell in love, where a friend told me she was going to have a baby, where I had anxiety attacks over exams, where I had a wee bit too much to drink, where I feasted on the best pitas in the world. I’m the Queen of Nostalgia, which is ironic considering the fact that when I was “there” (pick a spot, any spot), all I wanted was to get out and move on.

It’s tempting to want to go back in time and re-live those years that now seem so much easier than they were at the time. What doesn’t help the temptation is the standard wardrobe for University grrls these days – jeans, white belt, cute hoodie. Where was this frickin’ wardrobe when I was in Uni!??!? I totally could have excelled under those conditions.

All that to say, I recommend taking a little walk down memory lane – old schools, haunts, whatever. Not only is it a relatively cheap thrill (depending on how many rounds at Mike’s Place your cousin subjects you to), but also because sometimes, going back is the only way to appreciate how far you’ve come. And let me tell you, you’ve come a long way, baby!

By the way, as part of my need for nostalgic outlets, I’ve started to add photos to this site, and a “photos” page can now be found on the side. Also make sure to check out the “best sites” page for the latest addition – a super cool site that features social campaigns and really creative advertising.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

