ms. fresh fish


Diefenbunker
February 25, 2006, 11:52 pm
Filed under: general, recommendations

Upon a second visit to the Diefenbunker, this time with a ‘bunker virgin, I can safely say that this is hands down the best museum the National Capital Region has to offer – even when your tour guide looks like he’s in your 11-year old nephew’s class. I had to forcefully remove the gigantic foot from my loud-ass mouth when it became clear that the kid knew his stuff, seriously.

Anyway, I don’t want to give away any of the ‘effect’ of a first visit so I will share only what was my favourite part of this particular visit – the women’s washroom. While the ‘bunker was built to hold around 500 people in the event of a nuclear attack, the number of women was supposed to max out at twenty. The bathroom that these men built for the twenty women in the women’s quarters indicates the fear that the male designers had in bringing women down there. To either be extremely considerate (which I doubt) or mitigate the risks (which I think is more likely the situation), there was a bowling lane length of FOURTEEN sinks for the twenty women. Let the men share the sink by the twenties, but the women… don’t want to risk cat fights I guess. ‘nuf said.

I can’t wait to get out there for one of their movie nights. Must … get… car…

http://www.diefenbunker.ca/

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

